little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

thanksgiving goodness: butternut squash with wild rice dressing

leave a comment »

A healthy and hearty dish for Thanksgiving and beyond.

This evening was our neighborhood’s annual Thanksgiving potluck, and I’d been contemplating my dish for days.  I knew I wanted something that had all the goodness of traditional Thanksgiving fare, and something that could double as a side for omnivores and an entree for vegans/vegetarians.  Today, I settled on this recipe; even though I hadn’t made it before, it just looked too good to pass up.  And it turned out to be worth the risk.  It was a big hit, even with self-professed squash haters.

I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I juiced my own oranges and, instead of a seasoning blend (many of which are high in sodium), I used primarily pepper to highlight the flavors.  I’ll definitely be making this again.

Written by Ann

November 15, 2011 at 9:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

