little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

beer bread and blueberry jelly

leave a comment »

So good I can't be bothered to photograph them until they're nearly gone.

I love to bake, but I’ve not ventured much into the realm of bread making.  I don’t own a bread maker, and the fact that I’m terrible at gardening suggests to me that I’d be terrible at keeping a starter alive, too.  Solution: beer bread.  Since Daniel brews his own beer, I let him do the hard work and use the beer as my starter.  It couldn’t be simpler: sifted whole wheat flour, 3 teaspoons of baking powder, less than a teaspoon of salt, and 12 ounces of beer.  Mix it up, grease a loaf pan, dump in the batter, pour about a 1/3 cup of melted butter on top for a yummy crust, and bake for an hour at 375.  With a bit of low-sugar blueberry jelly from the farmer’s market, this makes a hearty and tasty breakfast, snack, or dessert.  Or lunch.  Or all of the above.

Written by Ann

May 25, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Leave a Reply

