little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

review: bakers burger co.’s vegetarian black bean burger

leave a comment »

This week, Daniel and I discovered vegetarian fare in what we thought was an unlikely place: Bakers Burger Co., a local burger joint that opened awhile back. I never considered it, frankly, because I assumed there wouldn’t be vegetarian options and I don’t much care for typical fast food. When Daniel went to lunch there with his colleagues, he was pleasantly surprised to discover a vegetarian black bean burger on the menu, as well as whole wheat buns and sweet potato fries. I had to see it to believe it, so he took me to experience it for myself. I, too, was pleasantly surprised. As noted in Eat Twin Forks‘ review, the black bean burger actually has discernible tastes – unlike the shady concoctions I’ve encountered elsewhere – and is downright enjoyable. Ingredients seemed fresh, and while I think the sweet potatoes could cook a bit longer, they’re still tasty. A fun discovery, for sure.  For more great vegetarian options in Hattiesburg restaurants, check out my list of favorite local vegetarian dishes.

Vegetarian black bean burger and grilled mushrooms on a whole wheat bun with a side of sweet potato fries.

By the way, if you’re looking for a yummy vegan black bean burger recipe, check out Chloe Coscarelli’s Mexicali Sliders with Cajun Yam fries.

Written by Ann

May 27, 2011 at 5:02 am

Leave a Reply

