little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

blueberry cobbler + homemade ice cream

with 2 comments

(and they’re both egg-free!)

Today Daniel braved the insane Mississippi heat wave to pick blueberries at his aunt’s house here in Hattiesburg.  I then, in the comfort of my air conditioning, made blueberry cobbler.  There are surely more healthful things to do with blueberries – eating them plain comes to mind – but you just can’t beat a blueberry cobbler, especially in the summer.  And since we’re trying to go easy on the refined carbs around here, I found this healthier/ish recipe at Eating Well.  I didn’t have peaches on hand, and I used almond milk rather than regular milk.  I did use real butter, but I’m sure it could easily be swapped for vegan margarine.

Blueberries galore!

And what is blueberry cobbler without a bit of homemade vanilla ice cream?  We make our egg-free homemade ice cream in our KitchenAid ice cream maker attachment (my favorite attachment, for sure).  We keep it simple: whole milk (from Country Girls Creamery, of course!), agave, and vanilla extract.  Proportions to taste.  The texture is more like gelato, which is just fine with me.

My trusy KitchenAid with ice cream maker attachment.

We hardly let the cobbler set up before we dug in.  Yum!

A perfect union, indeed.

Written by Ann

June 7, 2011 at 1:20 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmmm! That looks so good.

    Caroline

    June 15, 2011 at 11:02 pm

  2. Thanks, Caroline! Wish I had some more, in fact. : )

    annmcnair

    June 16, 2011 at 1:22 am


Leave a Reply

