little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

antiquin’

with 2 comments

After a wild week of wrapping up the summer semester, then a delightful trip to Birmingham to visit my sister, I find myself in August – with three weeks until fall classes begin and less than a month until the deadline for my research article.  And Daniel’s summer is over for good: he starts teacher in-service tomorrow.  So what to do on this scorching last day of freedom?  We started with a routine weekly cleaning that turned into furniture rearranging that led to a visit to the Calico Mall, a fabulous antique mall here in downtown.  And this all culminated in two spontaneous purchases that bring a little vintage to our style and much needed functionality to our space.

Item 1: the New Home sewing machine table cum writing desk. Vintage perfection.

We saw this and we just knew.  I’ve been looking for an alternative to the patio table and chairs I’ve been using for home office space (see the arrangement here).  I wanted something small, low profile, with simple lines, and I had been considering this Parsons mini desk from West Elm.  But when the furniture started moving today, Daniel had a better idea: instead of ordering something, why not try a local antique store?  (Read: why not repurpose an existing object instead of contributing to consumerism and resource overuse?)  Daniel is my eco-conscience, and he’s so right.  I’m no seamstress, but I’ll happily write (and trawl the Internet) on this beauty.

Instead of covering the table top with glass, we simply stacked a few books on the sewing machine shelf to create a level base for my laptop. Yes, that's the Dictionary of Etymology. A good foundation, indeed.

I adore the little drawer pull (and the drawer).

Since this piece is occupying a prominent space in the living/dining room, I decided not to dedicate a chair to the desk - so it can be as much an objet d'art as a work space. Instead, I'm pulling up a chair from the dining table nearby.

And then there’s Item 2: the Parisian café chair.  As much as I would love to go to Paris and shop the flea markets there, the logistics of getting a piece like this home would be, well, un peu difficile.  Finding one here in Hattiesburg was serendipitous, indeed.  I’ll pretend Gertrude Stein sat in it on a little side street off La Place St. Michel.

J'adore!

The pièce de résistance of our entryway.

Coming soon: Daniel’s new office space (where the patio table once was) and re-rearranged furniture in the bedroom.

Written by Ann

August 3, 2011 at 10:34 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this use of the sewing table! My sister (we used to live together, so I had a small hand in this) uses one as an entry-way table. They have so much character.

    minda

    August 4, 2011 at 10:00 pm


Leave a Reply

