little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

vegan whole wheat pancakes

leave a comment »

Who would guess that sweet, innocent looking pancake is both vegan and whole wheat? Flax eggs, coconut oil, almond milk, oh my!

Even though I do a terrible job of eating breakfast on weekday mornings, I love breakfast food.  Just not for breakfast, per se: brunch or dinner, preferably.  (In fact, we had breakfast food for dinner with friends earlier this week, and it was downright refreshing.)  Pancakes are one of my favorites, and they’re a lazy weekend morning staple chez nous.  They present a bit of a logistical difficulty for larger groups – or so I find – but they’re perfect for breakfast with house guests or breakfast for two.

They may not be the healthiest breakfast item, but I believe there’s a way to have my (pan)cake and eat it, too.  Of course I veganized them (flax eggs!), but I’ve also started using whole wheat flour or whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose.  Mark Bittman, upon whose recipe I based mine, doesn’t believe in using only whole wheat flour; he’ll allow replacing up to half the flour with whole wheat.  I quite like the taste and texture of whole wheat flour, and I especially like that it assuages my vague guilt for eating carbs – so I say go all in with the whole wheat flour.

So here’s the recipe: it’s quite simple, as it should be.

1. Put a teaspoon or two of coconut oil in the middle of a large skillet, and heat over medium-low.  (Why use boring old butter when there’s the magical hint of coconut flavor – plus myriad health benefits – to be had from coconut oil?)

2. Sift together 2 cups flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, and 1/4 teaspoon of salt in a small mixing bowl.

3.  In a large mixing bowl, beat together two flax eggs (2 tablespoons of ground or milled flax seed + 6 tablespoons of water) with 1 1/2 cups almond milk.

4.  Gently stir in dry ingredients.  Just mix enough to moisten the flour; lumps are good.

Happy whole wheat flour. See, it's not that scary.

5. Add up to 1/2 cup more almond milk, or just enough to get the batter to a pourable/spreadable consistency.  Then it’s ready for the skillet.  You can take it from there, right?

Everyone has her own way of knowing when to flip - and how to flip for that matter. My method: make Daniel do it.

Once the pancake is out of the skillet, it’s best eaten immediately, of course – even if you’re still cooking pancakes with your other hand.  There’s the traditional maple syrup topping, and then there’s other fun stuff like agave, blueberry jelly, or, in this case, fig preserves.

Topping du jour: fig preserves. Wonderful. Pass me my mimosa!

Written by Ann

August 13, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

