little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

impromptu new orleans

with 2 comments

Found: the elusive chest of drawers for the bedroom.

Our trip to the Big Easy yesterday was so impromptu, in fact, that I forgot my camera and thus missed many photo ops – the marvelously quirky antique and used furniture shops on Magazine (including The Creole Cottage, where we got the chest of drawers), de rigueur stops at Juan’s Flying Burrito and Whole Foods, a stroll through Audubon Park, and dinner with Daniel’s uncle, Earl, at Taj Mahal in Old Metairie.  I’d had a bit of a rough week, and Daniel knew just the remedy: the contagious energy of the city, retail therapy, and fabulous (!) Indian food with our favorite NOLA resident, whose avant-garde, treasure-filled bungalow always inspires me.

(A note on Indian food: why, Hattiesburg, why?  I was just talking to my colleagues about this on Friday.  Why is there no Indian restaurant in Hattiesburg?  Somebody, please, make that happen.)

I do, however, have photos of our new piece of furniture.  The decision came down to two contenders: a mid-century modern dresser at Peaches and the upcycled, antiqued chest of drawers from The Creole Cottage.  I love both stores, and I love both dressers, but in the end, Daniel wasn’t as keen on the MCM piece, and the price on the antiqued chest of drawers was simply unbeatable.  Luckily, it also fit in the Prius.

We love the antiquing details, with layers of light and dark blue paint peeking through the distressed white.

I created a space for this piece when I last rearranged furniture (seen here), but I think the space sort of overwhelms the chest, which was probably designed for a child’s room.  I’m still pondering this arrangement, but for now:

I have a feeling this piece, or something, is going to move. I'm just waiting on the inspiration. Until then, suggestions and ideas are welcome.

I did try it closer to the window, creating space for a bedside table or chair next to the bed.  I like this idea, but Daniel has (justified) qualms about the additional furniture purchase(s) this would necessitate.  In the meantime, however, we are delighted to have the clothing storage space, and I’m loving the airiness of all these shades and textures of white.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the dresser, but most of all, I love the Loebs sitting on it!

    Marley

    August 21, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    • Ha – I’m glad you appreciate the Loebs. So sorry we missed y’all when you were in Jackson!!

      Ann

      August 21, 2011 at 9:14 pm


Leave a Reply

