little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

vegan pound cake, two ways

leave a comment »

Decadent AND vegan.

Who doesn’t love pound cake?  I love the simple, rich flavors and moist texture, but I figured the pound-of-eggs-and-butter effect wouldn’t likely translate to a vegan version.  I’ve been suspiciously eyeing a few vegan pound cake recipes for the last year, but I just couldn’t bring myself to believe that tofu and canola oil could make pound cake magic.  Finally, about a week ago, I couldn’t take it any longer.  I had to know.

I started with this recipe – and if you’re looking for Southern Living-style sweetness, this is the one.  It is fabulously rich and tastes just like a good southern pound cake ought to taste.  And it’s super easy to make.  So once my craving for traditional pound cake was satisfied (after just a few bites, really), I began looking for a slightly less sweet version (and one that doesn’t call for margarine).  I found this recipe from the Vegetarian Times website and made it this weekend for a girls night in, and I decided not to tell my friends it was vegan until they’d eaten a few bites and reacted.  (Classic annoying vegetarian/vegan trick.)  They loved it and were genuinely surprised to find out it was made with tofu and canola oil.  Another win for vegan baking, and another win for tofu, especially.

Tofu's magical powers lend just the right spongy/fluffy texture to pound cake. The key, though, is to blend it smooth before mixing it in with the other ingredients. As much as I love tofu, even I wouldn't want to bite into a tofu lump in my pound cake.

I'm always glad to let my trusty KitchenAid do the mixing and beating for me.

The dough, just before baking. I happily tested a few bites, you know, just to make sure it tasted like pound cake. It did.

While the pound cake was baking, I made the lime glaze using the world's cutest juicer (a housewarming gift from my sister, who found it at Anthropologie).

Whisking the lime juice and powdered sugar. I had to taste-test that, too. It's good.

The (finally) baked cake. The VT recipe calls for 30 minutes of baking. I don't know about your oven, but mine can't cook a pound cake in less than 45 minutes.

Cooled, glazed, and sliced. Nom nom nom.

Written by Ann

September 5, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Posted in eating

Leave a Reply

