little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

in praise of the kitchen table

with one comment

The kitchen table's alter ego: my research space. It looked like this for the last two weeks, at least.

Our kitchen table, which also happens to be our dining table, usually stays pretty clear; the butcher block island seems to be the collection spot for mail, glasses, and just about everything else that comes in the door.  That’s not to say we don’t like the kitchen table – in fact, the table and the chairs are rather special to me (as I explained here).  Daniel and I just don’t often sit at the table to eat, favoring instead the island, the coffee table, or just standing in the kitchen.  If we’re eating at the table, we’re entertaining.

But the kitchen table has a secret life as my desk.  Even though I have plenty of desk, bookshelf, and filing space at my office, I sometimes commandeer the kitchen table for my home workspace when the stacks of grading or, more recently, the research and writing simply can’t be completed in regular work hours.  And as much as I love my new sewing machine desk (seen here and here), it’s mostly practical for checking email and social media and shopping online.  Plus, I’m a late-night worker, and the kitchen table is conveniently located around the corner from the bedroom – so one of the few walls we have in this place keeps the light from pouring into the bedroom where Daniel, who is definitely not a late-night worker, is trying to sleep.

I finally finished my research article and ceremoniously cleared the table, restoring it to the streamlined state I prefer.  At least until next week, when the stacks of student papers come in.

Much better, no?

Because the table is small (it was custom built for a small space), I like to keep it clear - literally. These jars and vases add just enough visual interest without overwhelming the surface area.

Written by Ann

September 11, 2011 at 9:19 pm

Posted in decorating, living

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] furniture shuffle (as I am wont to do this time of year; see here).  And since, as I describe here, the kitchen table gets most of its use as my desk, I decided to make it my actual […]


Leave a Reply

