little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

veggie chili

leave a comment »

Lots of veggies for this hearty and healthy chili.

I can’t believe it’s November.  I ran a 10K here in Hattiesburg this morning, and the cool weather was perfect for racing.  I was inspired to make this vegetarian chili, our winter staple, to warm me up – and provide plenty of leftovers for weekday meals.

I’ve been making variations of this vegetarian chili for two years now; I started with this recipe and have been playing with ingredients and seasonings.  (The original recipe is a great place to start for proportions.) NB: this recipe makes enough soup to feed a small army – or a supper club, or a group of friends.  It’s been a big hit with the latter two.

Lately, we've been trying to buy less canned food and have been soaking our own beans, so this was the first time I've made the chili without relying on the admittedly less responsible canned versions.

I start by sautéing the minced garlic (I used four cloves) in olive oil, then I add in the onion.

Then I add in the chopped veggies (I use tomatillos and green onions instead of the canned green chile peppers called for in the recipe), bay leaves, oregano, cumin, and salt.

While the veggies are simmering, I crush the tomatoes. We do use canned whole, peeled tomatoes; we just make sure there are no preservatives.

Next, I mix in in the crushed tomatoes, chili powder, and black pepper.

Great northern beans, red kidney beans, and black beans add protein and texture to this dish (and I use extra beans instead of the veggie burger crumbles called for in the recipe). We soaked and cooked them beforehand.

Finally, I stir in the beans, bring to a boil, then cover and simmer for about 45 minutes.

Meanwhile, I prepare brown rice in my handy rice cooker.

And then it's time to eat. Plus, the house smells amazing.

Written by Ann

November 5, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Posted in eating

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

