little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

’tis the season: strawberry short(cup)cakes

with 2 comments

It's strawberry season!

Just one of the many delights of spring is the arrival of strawberry season, and what better way to celebrate than with strawberry shortcake?  I’ll be honest here: I actually like those super-processed and questionable shortcakes next to the strawberries at the grocery store, but I know I can do better.  This vegan recipe speaks to my love for strawberry shortcakes AND my love for cupcakes, and it’s delightfully easy.

The longer the strawberries chill in the powdered sugar, the better.

Wonderfully fluffy cupcakes: angel food redefined.

I also love whipped cream, and even if I could find vegan alternatives to buy here, I can’t say I would.  I gave this coconut whipped cream recipe a try and was pleasantly surprised.  No, it doesn’t taste like Cool Whip, but it doesn’t purport to.  The coconut flavor is rather nice with the strawberries – but then again, I think coconut goes with everything.

All this came together for the ultimate strawberry short(cup)cakes:

Written by Ann

March 31, 2012 at 4:06 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my dear Ann, my mouth is watering. I remember having “the real thing” for Strawberry Shortcake. It was a sweet biscuit, that’s the only way I can explain. I adore coconut myself and the combo of Strawberries and Coconut just makes me about loopy. Remember, I’m your sweet condo friend…… 🙂

    Debi Davenport

    April 1, 2012 at 3:25 am

  2. Yay! We’re so happy you liked them!!

    Vegan Housewives

    April 2, 2012 at 9:19 pm


Leave a Reply

