little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

summer flowers

with 2 comments

I can’t believe how quickly the summer is flying by – and how breathtakingly busy it’s been.  Fortunately, there are summer flowers and herbs to bring a little summer happiness inside (minus the heat).  I always have fresh flowers when we’re entertaining, but after the last party we threw, I realized I shouldn’t have to wait till the next one to fill my vases.  Daniel has been making me little bouquets of zinnias and flowering herbs from the truck garden to put on the piano, and I love that I smell mint when I open the door.

And since the mint would take over the truck garden if he let it, Daniel also brings in stems for the dining table.  There can never be too much mint inside, after all, and I pair the herb arrangements with unscented votives to avoid competing with the fresh smell of mint.

Not all my summer flowers are from the truck garden; these gorgeous hydrangea blossoms were a gift from Joyce Hicks, the talented florist at Blooms, whom I interviewed for a piece for Mississippi Magazine.  The blossoms, paired with a delightful black pepper-scented candle (also from Blooms), make summer writing more fun.

Written by Ann

June 8, 2012 at 3:57 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ann, I must say you and Daniel are the best neighbors I have ever had. You guys are always asking me if you can help. It means so much to me! Well, I should tell you a lovely story about your “trunk garden”. I happen to mention to Daniel I was having 4 of my best friend girls over for a “hen party”! We all pitch in and bring something. I was just delighted (after mentioning I was to make the salad) that Daniel was willing to share his salad greens, mint, basil. You would have thought I hit the JACKPOT! I drove to the necessary evil in my life (Wal-Mart) and chose some blackberries, rasberries and toasted walnuts. So, I had my special salad: Trunk-n-Berry Salad with my own special blended dressing. The girls just had to see the Truck Garden. It is quite a legend around these parts!! Thanks Daniel and Ann!!! Hugs XOXO.

    Debi Davenport

    June 9, 2012 at 12:21 am


Leave a Reply

