little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

more truck-garden goodness: basil pesto

with one comment

The truck garden had its first big pruning of the year a couple of weeks ago (so that we could use the truck to carry something without damaging the plants – but that’s another story).  This meant we had to use up quite a bit of basil, and I’ve been waiting for that moment: basil pesto time!  I used this tried-and-true recipe but have since encountered several intriguing twists on the classic.  Most useful, I thought, was the suggestion to add spinach, since it takes nearly a small plant’s worth of basil just for one batch.

This pesto made for some decadent dipping.  And while I do love basil pesto, I also love fresh basil on a sandwich with roma tomato, mozzarella, and a dash of olive salad.  While we’re waiting for another batch of basil, we’re enjoying our malabar spinach and garden cucumbers.

Written by Ann

June 21, 2012 at 3:07 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG – I must ask if I can pick a bit of Basil. I adore making Pesto. What a dicotomy – so decadent, yet so very simple! I was about to e-mail you. I’m teaching SS next week. Part of the story says “the sweet smell of herbs” – hope you don’t mind, I snipped 3 peppermints. Ask Daniel how much is the going price 🙂 . See I can be tacky and go ahead and help myself and then I can stand on tradition…….ask!

    DEBI DAVENPORT

    June 21, 2012 at 10:52 pm


Leave a Reply

