little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

winter wonderland

with 2 comments

I absolutely love decorating for the holidays. (I may or may not have been listening to Christmas music – earbuds in – for weeks already.) Last year, we decided to go eco-friendly and created an indoor bottle tree to replace a cut Christmas tree, and I made several arrangements from discarded Christmas tree branches. This year, Daniel inspired me to be even more eco-friendly and botantically-correct by decorating with plants native to Mississippi (and sourced from nearby woods). I recycled my burlap and metallic votives from last year and added long leaf pine cones, southern magnolia leaves, yaupon holly berries, and eastern red cedar branches to create simple arrangements around the condo. I rather love the sculptural-yet-unfussy effect. It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, chez nous.

For the dining table, I wanted something dramatic but low enough to see over during meals:

And I made a smaller version for our coffee table:

I filled a large vase with cedar and holly for the foot of the bottle tree (think Christmas tree, deconstructed):

And I used extra cedar and holly for smaller arrangements on the entryway console and the dining buffet:

In the bedroom/study nook, I added holly berries to my vase of sweetgum sticks, and since we DO love bottles and lights (seen here and here), we made a little bottle lamp with battery-operated LED string lights:

I also made simple holly arrangements for my desk and the dresser:

And to make sure it smells like Christmas, too, I’m burning this heavenly balsam cedar-scented candle on our kitchen island:

Happy holidays!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here! Here! to the Magnolia’s

    Emily

    November 24, 2012 at 10:20 pm


Leave a Reply

