little paths so startled

living, decorating, and eating in hattiesburg, mississippi

new year’s resolution: edited, organized closet

with 4 comments

DSC_1178

I knew I was stressed last semester when simply getting dressed – putting together outfits and trying to remember what I’d worn the week (or day) before – was hive-inducing.  It’s not that my options were limited.  And my closet was certainly organized (thanks to a previous year’s organizing blitz).  I just couldn’t see how the pieces were working together, and the result was unwelcome added stress.

Enter Stylebook, an iPhone app I’d read about and been too lazy to try.  (Taking pictures of every piece of clothing I owned seemed exhausting.)  But when a nasty cold had me stuck at home for several days after the holidays, I decided to take it on.  And as I began the painstaking process of photographing my clothing, I realized that I’d been hoarding clothes like crazy.  I still had clothes from college and my first year of working – when I had no definable style whatsoever and tended to err on the frumpy side too keep from looking too young (!).  So I made a decision: if I couldn’t motivate myself to photograph and catalog the item, it went in the donation pile.

DSC_1179

It was a little scary for this hoarder to get rid of so much at once, but when I started using the app’s “Look” function to put together outfits, I realized I still have plenty of options.  Suddenly, my closet could breathe.  (And that’s no small feat in such a tiny space.)  As I took out each piece of clothing, I checked for holes, tears, stains, and pills, and I invested in a multipurpose sweater comb and fabric spray to keep my clothes looking (and smelling) like new.

photo-23

I’m also determined to eliminate (or at least reduce the frequency of) the work-week wardrobe crises.  I’ve found the calendar function in the app to be a useful planning tool; plus, I can see what I’ve worn recently.  There’s also a handy packing list function that will, I hope, preempt my packing panics.  Was this editing and organizing process tedious?  Yes.  Was it worth it?  For me, absolutely.  Here’s to a year of dressing and living well.

Written by Ann

January 18, 2013 at 5:48 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s just like Cher’s closet computer program in Clueless! Good thing I don’t have an iPhone, because I would get sucked into this. 🙂

    carolinerk

    January 18, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    • It totally is! I feel *almost* as cool as Cher. And you’re right; it’s very addicting.

      Ann

      January 18, 2013 at 8:30 pm

  2. You have no idea how happy organized closet pictures make me…Is that weird? I was actually working on organizing my closet this morning. I love your hangers…I want to splurge soon and get some like that!

    Marley

    January 19, 2013 at 11:40 am

    • The hangers are 100% worth it. And I enjoy looking at organized closet pictures, too. Like, a lot.

      Ann

      January 19, 2013 at 12:07 pm


Leave a Reply

